Chain Reaction

Book Seven in the Lt. Lucinda Pierce Mystery Series

An explosive new case for Homicide Investigator Lucinda Pierce

One quiet Sunday morning, homicide investigator Lucinda Pierce is called out to a bomb blast at a local high school. It seems the caretaker has been fatally wounded in the explosion and there is one other unidentified body. A bomb blast points towards suspected terrorism so, much to her annoyance, Lucinda is pulled off the case and the FBI takes over. While they are determined to prove this was an act of terrorism, Lucinda is convinced otherwise and pursues her own investigation — along with FBI agent Jake Lovett, who believes she may be right.
When another high school pupil’s dead body is discovered, Lucinda is convinced she is pursuing the right path in uncovering the motivations for the bomber. However, will the competing agencies ever acknowledge her conviction and allow her to solve the case?

CHAIN REACTION, the seventh book in the Lucinda Pierce series, explores how embracing stereotypes can impede an investigation and blind detectives to the simplest truths.


“Two cases and the subplot involving feuding federal agencies combine to provide a timely and involving case.”

Booklist Reviews


“A bomb blast shatters the tranquility of a Sunday morning and the tale moves along at a brisk pace.  Fanning provides several welcome twists.”

Kirkus Reviews


Purchase online at any of these bookstores: