Twisted Reason

Book Four in the Lt. Lucinda Pierce Mystery Series
A quirky new case for Homicide Investigator Lucinda Pierce

When a missing elderly man shows up dead on his son’s front porch, Lieutenant Lucinda Pierce isn’t certain if she’s investigating a murder or one of the strangest natural deaths she’s ever encountered. Then, the search for a missing five-year-old girl leads to the discovery of the bodies of two more senior citizens. A failed abduction attempt leads Lucinda to a man who did all the wrong things for all the right reasons and to a strange little Wonderland built with little money and lots of imagination.

TWISTED REASON, the fourth novel in the Lucinda Pierce series, explores the pain and anxiety suffered by the families and victims of dementia.  The case resurrects Lucinda’s pain over the deaths of her parents and changes her forever.



In loving memory of two irreplaceable men:

J. Leon Butcher, September 15, 1927 – August 29, 2005 

William ‘Bill’ Fanning, July 17, 1924 – June 13, 2009

“As usual, Fanning poses Lucinda a quirky mystery, this time providing a thoughtful look at the stress of those caring for loved ones with dementia.”

Kirkus Reviews

“True crime author Fanning brings a rare brand of realism to her work… Readers who like to have their emotions engaged while trying to solve the mystery will enjoy Pierce’s latest adventure.”

The Library Journal Review

“Edgar-finalist Fanning skillfully illuminates the heartbreaking challenges facing Alzheimer’s victims and their families in her fourth mystery featuring Virginia homicide detective Lucinda Pierce.”

Publishers Weekly Review

“Diane Fanning has created a winning heroine in Lucinda Pierce”

Alafair Burke, author of 212

Purchase online at any of these bookstores: